Bali bike ride through the bamboo forest

Testimonials

This page contains collection of testimonies written by our clients. They shared their reviews, feedbacks, opinions and experiences they had during the trips with Bali Hai Adventure Tours which often we use to improve our service in the future and hopefully will be also useful for you as references.

Most testimonials contain sample photos taken during the trip, you can usually view its larger version by clicking the thumbnails.

You can also make contribution to this page by sending us your experiences and photo of your trip. Please contact us for more details.

Last updated: December 2023

Testimonies grouped by year:

[ Recent ] [ 2020-2018 ] [ 2017-2015 ] [ 2014 ] [ 2013 ] [ 2012 - 2011 ]

  • NEW

    “Wonderful back-road cycling tour”

    Absolutely lovely day cycling with Bali Hai.

    We got a perspective that just wouldn’t be possible any other way. The route is perfectly chosen to see tons of interesting sights, be almost entirely flat or downhill and was very protected from traffic. Equipment was in great condition as well.

    Totally recommended!

    Liz S. (Toronto, Canada)

    December 2023

    eli - ultimate+ bike tour

  • NEW

    “Amazing experience!”

    Excellent value for your money - highly recommend this for anyone who wants a unique way to see real Bali village life away from the busy parts of Ubud.

    Guides were patient, friendly and informative. There is some riding on main roads but the traffic was not bad and the guides were very good about keeping everyone safe.

    Lii L. (Canada)

    December 2023

    lii - ultimate+ bike tour

  • “Fun Bali Adventure”

    I highly recommend this tour. An awesome way to experience Bali and the best guides ever! Beautiful sights and not too difficult riding.

    Stefanie F. (Melbourne, Australia)

    September 2023

    stef - ultimate+ bike tour

  • “Ultimate Adventure Tour”

    Great way to see a snippet of Bali!

    My husband and I did the Ultimate Adventure Tour. Biking was mostly downhill (start and end points are different). Kadek and Wayan are so knowledgeable and made sure we were safe the whole time.

    We recommend!

    Heidi H. (Canada)

    August 2023

    heidi - ultimate bike tour

  • “Amazing Full Day Bike Tour”

    What an amazing day!

    We went on the full day bike riding tour… we are a family of 5 with 3 young children age 8, 5, 3. They picked us up from Canggu which was a 1.5 hour car ride… we stopped and did a coffee tour and then went got banana pancakes for breakfast. We then started the bike ride.. 3 year old on the back of my bike.. the 5 year old got tired and he rode the scooter which he absolutely loved!

    The bike ride was incredible… did a few stops and it definitely kept the kids entertained! All down hill… and safety was definitely first!

    Lunch was delicious looking over rice paddy fields.. The tour guide and staff were lovely and incredibly helpful!

    Thank you!

    Bethany A. (Robina, Australia)

    August 2023

    beth - ultimate+ bike tour

  • “Loin des Sentiers Touristiques”

    Journée parfaite, vélos d’excellentes qualités adaptés à toute la famille. Promenade dans des endroits insolites. Visite chez l’habitant, temple, forêt de bambous, rizières.

    Le petit-déjeuner et le repas étaient délicieux dans des endroits incroyables.

    Je recommande a 1000%

    Clement M. (Grand Est, France)

    August 2023

    clement - ultimate bike tour

  • “Bamboo biking”

    A really fun family day out with 2 adults, 2 kids (4 & 6) - lots of bike riding, seeing animals, plenty of opportunity to stop to take photos and have some water.

    So highly professional with all the pieces of the puzzle working seamlessly - our driver picked us up from our hotel; after a long drive we were greeted by Wayan who was the tour guide, with another rider behind us, as well as a scooter (handy for our boys in parts, and a real highlight for them) and back up car.

    Highly recommend!!

    Emily G. (Melbourne, Australia)

    August 2023

    emily - standard bike tour

  • “Mountain biking in Bali”

    Went biking yesterday with my teenage son and Bali Hai Adventure Tours.

    It was a great experience. Quality bikes, good helmet and kind guides. We were two people and they came 4 guides. One driver picking us up at the hotel, two guides accompanying us on the bike tour and one driving the follow car with extra bikes.

    I can highly recommend this adventure company.

    Malene V. (Denmark)

    July 2023

    malene - standard bike tour

  • “Great day out!”

    A really great day out. Our driver Dewa was patient and good humoured despite my daughter being unwell on the drive up to our start point.

    The bike tour itself was fantastic and Wayan and his team took brilliant care of us, and our two kids (both under 4) thoroughly enjoyed taking in the sights from their bike seats. Some stunning scenery and a peek into the lives of the Balinese away from the tourist areas.

    Recommended!

    Nathan G. (United Kingdom)

    June 2023

    nathan - ultimate+ bike tour

  • “Bike tour with toddlers!”

    Wished there was an option to rate 10 stars!

    There are 3 toddlers in our group of 9, Wayan and team are very experienced guides and they made sure we were well taken care of during the bicycle journey. Some parts of the terrain were quite tough and rocky. They prepared child helmets and seats that looked really new and very safe to use.

    As we are a big family with young children, they were very patient and accommodating to our timings and needs. The experience of the bicycle tour is exceptional and unique from other agencies, it wasn’t touristy at all. We get to see an authentic Balinese way of life: traditional and historical, modern, cultural, agriculture aspects. The nature we experienced were breathtaking.

    Raine C. (Singapore)

    June 2023

    raine - ultimate+ bike tour

  • “Family bike tour!”

    Kadek and his team took care of us very well and we had a blast!

    Recommended for families with kids for an unforgettable bike tour.

    Jon W. (Singapore)

    June 2023

    jon - ultimate+ bike tour

  • “Excellent tour operators!”

    Did the Sunrise Mt Batur and cycling combo.

    Service was excellent right from the start and every person along the way was also fantastic. Putu our mountain guide was superb and gave us some amazing photos. Dewa our driver was lovely and super friendly and Kadek our cycling guide was fantastic as well and showed us some local villages via bicycles.

    Clean, well organised and safe - would recommend to anyone looking for an active day out with a well run and managed tour company

    Faye K. (Victoria, Australia)

    May 2023

    faye - ultimate+ bike tour

  • “Surprising bike tour!”

    A surprising day because we first got acquainted with the coffee and tea tasting on our way to the location where the cycling tour started. Viewed the Tegalalang Rice Terraces and were offered breakfast. We visited the place where we had a nice view of Lake Kintamani and Volcano Batur.

    Then we arrived in the middle of no were at the start of our bike ride. A very varied trip. On narrow paths, through bamboo forest, then again on the road through civilization. During the car ride we were told a lot about the arts and crafts of Bali around Ubud. During the cycling trip we visited one of the oldest temples in Bali.

    Our tour ended in the rice fields at a water temple. There we were offered coconut milk in a real coconut. at the end there was a lunch at a beautiful viewpoint

    Hieronima G. (The Netherlands)

    April 2023

    hieronima - ultimate+ bike tour

  • “Amazing family trip!”

    From our pick up to drop off we thoroughly enjoyed our trip. Our driver was friendly and informative. The breakfast and lunch destinations had stunning views.

    We loved biking through the villages and forests - our guides looked after us so well. We felt safe biking with our two children (8 and 9) as the tour group were always watching out for us all. This was our first trip to Bali and the tour was perfect to get to see sights and countryside of Bali - all with very friendly and helpful hosts.

    Thanks for the great experience.

    Eve B. (Christchurch, New Zealand)

    April 2023

    eve - ultimate+ bike tour

  • “Great tour to see a different side of Bali”

    We really enjoyed this experience, something I wouldn't have expected to do or enjoy as much as I did. A great way to enjoy a different side of Bali, quiet back streets and villages, through bamboo forests and rice terraces, interaction with locals as you go, temple visit and generally a relaxing bike ride that is not overly hard as you basically head downhill 90% of the time.

    Would be great to take the children with you as well, a good family or couple or group experience. Ends with a nice meal at a restaurant overlooking a rice terrace. Well worth it...

    Thank you Wayan, Dewa and Made for looking after us and sharing your knowledge with us

    Good value for money too.

    Mark H. (Perth, Australia)

    March 2023

    mark - standard bike tour

  • “Great tour to see a different side of Bali”

    Great tour!!

    We had so much fun on this (ultimate+) tour! It is such a good way to see Bali. Our 2yr old and 5yr old loved it too. The tour guides are professional and are always willing to help. Would recommend it to everyone.

    Good value for money too.

    Lotte K. (The Netherlands)

    February 2023

    lotte - ultimate+ bike tour

  • NEW

    “A great way to experience the natural beauty and culture of Bali”

    This was such a fabulous way to experience the natural beauty and culture of Bali. Our guides (Wayan and Nyoman) were very knowledgeable and generous with their explanations. The riding was sufficiently easy that we could enjoy the surrounds without being too challenged.

    Murray L. (Melbourne, Australia)

    February 2023

    logan - ultimate+ bike tour

  • “Scenic bike cruise through Bali jungle, local villages and rice fields”

    Booked the “standard” bike cruise that went through the bamboo plantation, local villages and temples with my 7 year old daughter.

    This was a memorable off the beaten track experience and we were able to see and experience much more of the local culture than is typically available on other tours. The ride itself was mostly downhill and easily manageable for kids. Nyoman and team were very friendly, knowledgeable and helpful throughout the tour. The highlight of the tour was a visit to a hidden waterfall. This involved a jungle walk which was well worth the effort as we were rewarded with a picturesque waterfall and many great photos.

    A refreshing coconut drink and scenic lunch overlooking a rice field were the perfect ending to the tour.

    Daniel M. (Perth, Australia)

    January 2023

    daniel - standard bike tour

  • “Rafting and Cycle Combo Tour - Great family day out”

    We travelled as a family of four with teenagers 13 and 16 and did the Bali Hai rafting and cycle tour combination - we had a great day out.

    From the time our driver arrived until we were dropped back at the hotel, Bail Hai do a great job.

    I have done rafting a number of times before in Bali and this was far better. It helped January is rainy season, and the river was flowing well, but compared to rafting out of Ubud the Telaga Waja river was more adventurous.

    After rafting we were given lunch and a chance to shower and change before heading to our next activity of cycling.

    The cycling tour is for all ages and abilities. It is more a downhill roll with a few pedals in between. We cycled through villages, rice fields, back streets and main streets - it is a great way to see Bali at a slower pace.

    We were on a tour with just the 4 of us and two guides. We stopped at Penglipuran traditional village and talked to the locals - took photos at the temple and wondered around for a short break from the bikes.

    At the end of the cycle we stopped at the water temple and enjoyed fresh coconuts! Highly recommend this tour and Bali Hai Adventure who provided excellent service!

    Penny R. (Adelaide, Australia)

    January 2023

    Penny - rafting & cycling tour Penny - rafting & cycling tour

  • “Awesome!”

    This bike tour was awesome.

    The people were well organized and made it really fun. The route they took us on was an intricate series of connecting paths that you could never navigate on your own without local knowledge.

    I would definitely recommend this if you like cruising downhill, easy cycling and seeing little villages along the way.

    Michael C. (Oregon, USA)

    January 2023

    Coen - ultimate bike tour

  • “More than a bike tour”

    Great bike tour.

    So well thought out and organized. Not a dull moment the entire time. You feel like you are in the real Bali. So simple and peaceful.

    The ride includes so many highlights including the largest bamboo forest in Bali, many small, quaint and welcoming villages, jungle, rice fields and a beautiful water temple.

    The lunch and the location where lunch was served was exceptional.

    Can’t imagine a better tour of Bali.

    Larry K. (California, USA)

    December 2022

    larry - Standard bike tour

  • “Fantastic day out!”

    Fantastic day out, great cycle guide Wayan & driver Made

    Really enjoyed this tour & highly recommend!

    Margaret B. (Perth, Australia)

    December 2022

    Margaret & Peter - Ultimate+ bike tour

  • “Incredible day!”

    We opted for the full day experience - hiking Mt Batur at sunrise (so worth it!), hot springs, and cycle tour.

    The entire trip was well organised and we felt so catered for!

    Such a personalised incredible experience!

    Rebekah S. (Brisbane, Australia)

    November 2022

    Rebekah & Jon - Volcano Rebekah & Jon - Bike ride

  • “Fabulous off the beaten track!!”

    Thanks so much to Bali Hai Adventure Tours !! Bagus sekali!

    My partner and I had a fabulous day on the premium cycling trip last week. I have been with Bali Hai twice before – most recently about five years ago – still heaps of fun and authentic!

    You will not be disappointed

    5 stars !!

    Kylie S. (Townsville, Australia)

    October 2022

    Kylie S
  • “Fantastic ride!”

    What a fantastic ride it was with Wayan and Kadek. If you want to see the non touristic route, want to see the real Balinese life and have great conversations in between, book this ride.

    We did the ultimate+ bike tour.

    Ischa D. (The Netherlands)

    October 2022

    Ischa D
  • “Recommended!”

    Totally recommend this bike ride. We booked direct through their website. The whole experience was well planned out and the guides were brilliant - great English, friendly and accommodating of different experience levels.

    Do not be put off if you are not that fit, they will tailor the route to you. Our route was 99% downhill which was perfect for my partner!

    Book!

    Hugh T. (London, UK)

    October 2022

    Hugh T
  • “Excellent Service - Mt Batur Trek not for the faint hearted!”

    We used Bali Hai for our Mt Batur Sunrise Trek and they were fantastic. From the 3am pick up the driver had to navigate very poor visibility and heavy rain to get us to the base of the trek and did so safely! Our guide was friendly and a good pace and offered us alternatives when available. She provided the option of a head light or torch (the trek is in the dark) and had ponchos available for us (it was quite drizzly).

    The two-hour trek is not for the faint hearted. It is quite rough terrain and it is a solid two hour walk. When you walk back down in the day light and see what you have trekked on you realise the challenge you just achieved.

    A lot of people take this trek - there can be traffic jams even on days of bad weather! Be prepared to have to wait at times as it is mostly single file pathway.

    Unfortunately our morning was not great weather and visibility was next to none and it was cold at the top - but hey we did it and I would still recommend it!

    After the trek we visited the local hot springs - don't forget your bathers! A great option to soothe the legs. And then we were taken to a beautiful restaurant with an amazing view for a buffet breakfast.

    On the drive home we also stopped at a coffee shop for tasting of all the local coffee varieties including the Luwak coffee.

    A great day out - Bali Hai really looked after us.

    Penny R. (Adelaide, Australia)

    September 2022

    penny
  • “Half day cycling tour”

    Highly recommended Bali Hai Adventure Tours.

    We booked a private half day cycling tour, a highlight on our recent holiday. Downhill cycling via villages, temples and bamboo forest was heaps of fun and challenging at times, great to experience the real Bali.

    We've done a couple of cycling tours in Bali and this is the best by far.

    Will definitely book again, great crew, new bikes very comfortable and good return transfers included.

    Zoe D. (Australia)

    August 2022

    zoe
  • “Great way to see Bali sights!”

    This was a great day, really well organised, saw lots of sights and the guides were excellent and knowledgable.

    I’d highly recommend!

    Sara James (Cardiff, UK)

    August 2022

    sara
  • “Une belle journée de découvertes dans la campagne balinaise”

    Nous avons effectué le tour avec Made notre chauffeur très sympa et pleins d'informations, qui nous a conduit à plusieurs points de visite : les rizières, une plantation de café, le point de vue jusqu au volcan, puis nous avons sillonné la campagne balinaise en vélo, traversant des villages et accueillis avec le sourire des balinais.

    Nous remercions toute l'équipe pour cette superbe journée, qui s'est terminée par un point de vue sur un temple et un déjeuner tarif près des rizières.

    Jessie Foulhioux (Provence, France)

    August 2022

    jessie jessie
  • “Great cycling experience in Bali”

    Our driver/guide was Dewa, he greeted us with a warm welcome and provided good information throught the day.

    We vistited a Coffee plantation and then had lunch over looking Mount Batur.

    Wayan our cycle tour was great and had a lot of patience.

    This was the highlight. All downhill through the bamboo forest & padi fields, stopping at a traditional Balinese village - Penglipuran, climbing the steps up to a public temple, and finishing at Pura Taman Narmada Bali Raja - water temple.

    Suksma!

    Adam Gurr (London, UK)

    August 2022

    adam
  • “Perfect way to explore Ubud”

    We had such a fantastic day with Wayan, Kadek and their team!

    Guides were very friendly and knowledgeable. We loved getting to ride through farmlands and seeing a different side of the Ubud region.

    Allysa & Liam (Australia)

    July 2022

    alyssa
  • “A great way to see the real Bali”

    We had a great experience even though it was raining riding through rice fields, bamboo forest and small villages.

    As mentioned by others it's a great way to see the real Bali. The tour guides are super friendly and welcoming and ensure. The best part of the bike ride was all 99% down hill.

    Ian & friends (Brisbane, Australia)

    July 2022

    ian
  • “Dare to go off track - Cool experience!”

    Fantastic day out with Kadek and team.

    We booked the ultimate tour and we were picked up at 7.15 AM at our Nusa Dua hotel. The driver was friendly and gave us extensive feedback about Bali sights, culture and rituals.

    After visiting a coffee plantation, a lovely breakfast and beautiful rice fields, we made a 20 km downhill mountain bike tour. The tour was amazing and we visited a traditional Balinese village and a water temple.

    Kadek has been an amazing tour guide, had a perfect pace and he was very much concerned about our safety. The tour can be done by experienced or less experienced bikers.

    We really enjoyed the day out.

    Robert, Maria & Paul (The Netherlands)

    July 2022

    robert
  • “Amazing experience”

    This experience was amazing!

    The driver picked us up on time, took us to the rice fields and took several photos for us. We had a great “2nd breakfast” and then began our ride.

    The views were spectacular and the guides were so fun and friendly. He took photos and videos of us on our bikes. We toured a traditional Balinese village and were able to peek inside a home stay. We ended at a waterfall, which they said was small but we found the beauty to be outstanding.

    The whole experience was remarkable. I hope to return to Bali and do it again!

    Dianna & Norma

    Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
    June 2022

    dianna
  • “The real Bali through the wheels”

    I didn't bother to check for another place after seeing their website. It's very thorough with details of places we'd visit for our bike ride.

    Kadek responded my WA within minutes which made the booking process very easy. He gave me early heads up of when would the driver arrived at our location. He arrived at the exact time. He drove us to few stops and patiently explained about the places we'd visit. He was also knowledgeable in answering our questions.

    Once we arrived at the cycling starting point, our guides were already waiting for us with our bicycles, helmets and water bottles for each of us. One led at the front and the other one led at the back. They took us to the village areas, bamboo jungles, rice paddies and main roads while ensuring our safety. They checked on us occasionally to make sure we were okay.

    As they showed us around, they took pics and videos of us at recommended spots.

    When we finished our destination for almost three hours cycling, our driver had waited for us with young coconut drinks.

    We had a pleasant time exploring the area because of their wonderful service.

    Look no further, Bali Hai Adventures answers for your adrenaline rush.

    Maureen & family (Jakarta, Indonesia)

    June 2022

    maureen
Share this page: