interact with local rural farmers Off the beaten track Bali cycling touring Cycling through green plantation Green and quiet countryside of Bali Ride through an amazing bamboo forestFamily bike tours in Bali Exotic rural villageCycling through unspoiled countryside of Bali Sekumpul waterfall trekking tour Mount Batur Sunrise Trekking Tour

Truly unique adventure to reveals the hidden beauties of Bali

Unrivalled ‘off the beaten track’ cycling routes

Ride through stunning rice paddies, amazing ‘bamboo forest’, secret back roads, off-road paths and more...

Visiting traditional villages, spectacular temples, coffee plantations and some hidden places

Flexible cycling tracks that accommodate all level of ages and skills

Top-class routes, high quality equipments, fun & professional guides, excellent services

Join us for the most wonderful and memorable cycling experiences

Testimonials

This page contains collection of testimonies written by our clients. They shared their reviews, feedbacks, opinions and experiences they had during the trips with Bali Hai Adventure Tours which are very useful for us in term of our service improvement in the future and hopefully will be also useful for you as a reference guide.

Most testimonials contain sample photos taken during the trip, you can usually view its larger version by clicking the thumbnails.

Testimonies grouped by year:

[ Recent ]   [ 2014 ]   [ 2013 ]   [ 2012 & 2011 ]

  • “Best Way to Experience Rural Balinese Village Life”

    We stayed in Ubud on our recent trip to Bali for my birthday celebration, and one of the highlights of the trip was the Bali Cycling Tour by Bali Hai Tours. It was a full day tour from 9am (pick up from our hotel in Ubud) to late afternoon about 4pm with breakfast and lunch provided for US$50 per person...
    Read the full review on her blog!

    Allison W (Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia)

    April 2017

    bike tour with Allison
  • “Such Fun!”

    After Bali Hai Tour is being recommended to us by some others we'd met whilst in Bali we had high expectations!
    Despite the weather not quite being on our side, we had a great time. The cycling is a great way to see more rural parts of Bali and get a bit off the beaten track. Wayan was also an awesome guide.
    We'd definitely recommend! 

    Susannah H (London, UK)

    March 2017

    bali countryside cycling - rice paddies
    Wayan - our cycling guide
  • “First time on a bike for many .........years”

    wow, this day was even better than what we expected, was sensational, the boys (guides) looked after us brilliantly, very knowledgeable and caring, making sure we were both fine... Even if you're over 60 give this trip a try, real value for money and you get to see the real Bali.

    Chris & Jan (Adelaide, Australia)

    February 2017

    Bike tour stopping points - basket weaving
  • “Batur Sunrise Trekking Tour”

    What an awesome day! Seeing the sunrise from Mt Batur was amazing.

    We walked out the front of our hotel at 3am to get picked up and our car was waiting. The trek was tougher than expected so you want to make sure you have a moderate level of fitness. Our guide for the trek, Tria, was absolutely amazing!!!! She made sure we had enough breaks and was super caring and friendly. The hot springs were very relaxing after the trek.
    Lunch was in a restaurant with a great view of where we had trekked during the morning, and the day was finished off with the friendly and informative tour of the coffee plantation.

    A jam packed fantastic day!

    Michael Scott (Adelaide, Australia)

    November 2016

    Sunrise view at mount Batur
  • “Paradise Waterfall Tour”

    We did this tour after doing the volcano hike the day before.

    Our first stop was the Sekumpul waterfalls, This was only about 30 minutes from our hotel (our hotel located in Singaraja). There is about a 45 minute walk down 100+ stairs and through rivers to reach the waterfalls. You will want shoes that you can walk through the rivers with because there are sharp rocks that will hurt your feet if you try to go barefoot. Most tours leave from Ubud or Seminyak which are further from the waterfalls. Because of this, we were the first ones at the waterfalls and got them to ourselves.. We were able to spend a couple of hours walking around the two large waterfalls and swimming in the ponds beneath them

    After the waterfalls we were able to get changed in a bathroom at the parking lot. From the waterfall we continued south towards Seminyak. Out next stop was Pura Ulun Danu. This is one of the most famous temples in Bali and is located on one of the few lakes on the island. After the temple we got lunch and had the option of going to the Jatiluwih rice terrace. This rice terrace is larger than the one we saw previously and is a UNESCO site. We were exhausted from another early morning and it was starting to rain again so we deiced to head straight to Seminyak.

    Another great way to spend the day...

    Michelle & Kate (Chicago, USA)

    October 2016

    Sekumpul waterfall
  • “Sunrise Volcano Hike”

    One of the things both me and my friend wanted to do most on our trip was a sunrise hike of Mount Batur, an active volcano in northern Bali. We used Bali Hai Adventure and booked it ahead of time. Our driver arrived right on time and we tried to get some sleep on the drive. When we got to Mount Batur we met up with our private local guide who would hike the mountain with us. You are required to hike with a guide and can not go on your own. Since it was only 4am it was pitch black during the hike and our guide provided flashlights. The first half of the hike was pretty simple, but the second half was very challenging. I have seen sites say that anyone could do this hike, but that is not the case. You are hiking very steep and loose volcanic rock. I was winded and had to stop for multiple breaks.

    The hike took about 2 and a half hours and we reached the top about 30 minutes before sunrise, just in time for a small breakfast provided by our tour guide.

    After the sunrise we walked around the top of the volcano seeing the thermal features and monkeys who live on the mountain before beginning the slippery hike down. By 8am we were done with our hike and exhausted. Our tour included a stop at a Lake Batur natural hot spring pool. We spent a few hour soaking in the pools, napping and getting some sun before returning to our hotel for a lazy evening.

    Definitely a great way to spend the day...

    Michelle & Kate (Chicago, USA)

    October 2016

    Sunrise hike Mt. Batur
    Batur Natural Hot Spring Pool
  • “Our favourite tour.... AMAZING!”

    If you want a fantastic day tour in Bali, this is the tour for you!
    We were travelling with a group of 8 people including my mum who turned 60 while we were in Bali. We all (including 60 yr old mum) enjoyed this day immensley, first stop was the coffee plantation which was very interesting, drinking coffee made from poo! Yes...POO! Then we visited the rice fields, from there we went onto a delicious lunch overlooking the volcano (lunch was meant to be breakfast so eat before you leave your hotel) We were then taken to our bikes and off we went for a spectactular day cruising on our bikes. Through bamboo forests, stopping in a bali village, visiting a 1000 year old temple. At the end of the 21km ride we were taken to a little restaurant tucked away in the mountain side for the most delicious dinner. I was blown away by this tour and would highly reccommend it to anyone. The staff were all lovely, from the driver that picked us up from our hotel to the bike guides to the lovely people that greeted us at lunch and dinner. 10/10 Guys.....TOP TOUR!!!

    Natalie M. (Sydney, Australia)

    August 2015

    bamboo forest bike riding
  • “Amazing experience, bikes in flawless condition”

    Where do I start.. from the moment they picked us up at the hotel the service was amazing. I took my wife and 6 children 1 of them being too small to ride (8 months), but this was no issue, we were allowed to have her ride in a car following and swaping out riders to baby-seat. The tour started with a scenic stop slipped in on the way for pictures of a rice field ( they also helped take some ).

    Then a huge feast laid out for us overlooking a volcano with a perfect view. Coffee tasting and tour as well. Then off on our brand new polygon bikes. Gears worked perfect brakes were adjusted and nothing was an issue. After 3 stops, one walking through a 72 houses village where we were welcomed in to veiw there houses. We were led through a beautiful rice field to a hidden hut where our lunch was prepared. I have never been fed so well in one day.

    I highly recommend this company and tour.

    Ken Quimby (New South Wales, Australia)

    July 2015

    restaurant amid rice fields
  • “Absolutely awesome”

    Kadek, Made and Wayan absolutely made our holiday with this bike tour. From the pick up at our door, right through to the drop off later that day, our family had a brilliant day. The scenery was outstanding, meeting local people in their villages was fantastic, the meals were yummy and lots of great information from Made on the transfer and especially Kadek on the ride. Nearly 5 hours of 95% downhill riding was just awesome. Great for all ages (our girls are 11 years) The best 10 hour day we have had. Can not rate highly enough.
    Thanks Kadek and the team

    Wallace's family (Melbourne, Australia)

    June 2015

    Family bike tour go off roads
  • “What a wonderfull perfect day!”

    We booked through email, which was quick and easy and had a wonderfull day. For our two children 10 and 8 (very small girl) the right size bikes were available. Two very nice guides who spoke very good english were very helpfull and friendly to them and explained a lot while riding around.

    They were no other people so our tour for just the four of us felt very private as well! We feared it would be very touristic, it really was not at all! Saw just one other couple of foreigners (we started late at our request). Lunch at the end even made us feel we were in a private green paradise with such good food. They looked out for our safety: When traffic was a bit to busy they took the kids in the car and 10 minutes later they were riding their bikes again safely.

    I would recommend this company to all my friends!

    Renate (The Netherlands)

    May 2015

    bamboo forest with kidsvisiting temple
    off road bike tour with kidssmall back road countryside
  • “Family bike tour”

    What a fantastic tour, we took my parents and our 3 children aged 7, 6 & 3 years. 
    One of our best days out in Bali, the kids had a ball and got to experience some of the Balinese culture and see how they live. The family based business is one of the best in Bali and we will continue to recommend to family and friends to do, as we had such a great day. That the kids are still talking about it.

    Jasmine & family (Great Western, Australia)

    May 2015

    Family bike tour in the middle of rice paddies
  • “Got the best view of the countryside”

    It was an enjoyable, educational, awesome tour services of the Bali Hai Bike team! Our guide was so helpful for a first time mountain bike rider like me! It was all a good experience!

    Malou Tanaka (Odawara, Japan)

    May 2015

    In the middle of rice paddies
  • “Great experience in Bali”

    Bali is a beautiful island, and this bike trip is one of the best way to experience it. All the staffs are awesome. I'm not much of the cyclist but with their professional service taking care of the bike group, I feel safe and can easily enjoy the ride. If you love to ride don't miss this bike tour

    Ed Namchai (Bangkok, Thailand)

    February 2015

    yoga pose inside bamboo forestbike ride through rice paddies
  • “Great fun with kids”

    Really well organised day trip. 

    Many of the other reviews list the itinerary but I'd like to mention how great they were at accommodating the children.

    Our party was two families with children aged 6, 7, 8 and 9.

    They brought a range of bike sizes and bike seats. The six-yr-old opted to sit in a bike seat but the 7-yr-old cycled part of the way then swapped - they brought the van in convoy with all the bikes so he could swap whenever.

    Great, scenic, low/no traffic route for 95% of the journey but when we were on a road I felt they really prioritised our safety. We had a guide at the front and a guide at the back - he stayed very wide so passing traffic couldn't squeeze us. At 'major' junctions the van, the taxi pick up and all the staff basically held back all traffic.

    The lunch was child friendly too - chicken nuggets!!

    If you are travelling with children I would highly recommend this tour operator.

    Mark B (Liverpool, UK)

    February 2015

    bike ride through junglebike ride through back roads
    bike ride through bamboo forestbike ride through rice paddies
  • “Exceeds all expectations”

    This trip exceeds all expectations. A very friendly private driver to pick us up. A wonderful trip thru the plantations with excellent coffee and a wonderful private guide.

    We had a very friendly private guide for the bike tour, who stopped whenever we wanted to make pictures, and as it was so extremely beautiful we wanted to stop a lot. They even arranged additional staff to help us cross the few cross-overs where it was a little bit dangerous, just to be sure. We had a private photographer who provided 58 high quality amazing pictures for free after the trip.

    The trip was beautiful, you really see the real Bali, totally different then the touristic places, and the local people were extremely friendly and welcoming everywhere we came. And last but certainly not least the food at the end was extremely good. I just don't have enough words for this trip and they managed to even exceed in the category 'Excellent'.

    Jan-Daan (Amsterdam, The Netherlands)

    February 2015

    jan - bamboo forest ride
  • “One of the best days in Bali”

    These guys are great- There are a lot of bike tours offered in Bali and this is one of the most personal and private you can find.

    The staff of four were patient and attentive and appreciated that 3 of us were strong riders and 1 needed some extra time and an occasional push up hill. We traveled through shady bamboo forest, mature rice fields, a quiet village temple and rode deep into the local countryside.

    The ending at the family farm for lunch was a sweet surprise.

    I saw many bike trips passing later with large groups on congested roads and appreciated the thoughtfulness that went into planning this special route. 

    Book them now before they get discovered!

    Richard (Boston, USA)

    February 2015

    cycling through villagescycling through bamboo forest
  • “The BEST way to see Bali!”

    I had friends who highly recommended a bike tour around Ubud. After trying to contact the same business (but they didn't respond to my email while in Sanur) I booked with Kadek after reading reviews on Trip Advisor.

    From the moment the driver arrived our experience was easy, smooth and professional. We ended up being the only people on the trip and had Kadek lead us through the villages and a suprise to find that they took loads of photos which they emailed us after the trip. While the food at breakfast was pretty average to say the least (the view more than made up for it), the entire day was wonderful. Escaping the humidity of Sanur, the mountain air was a welcome relief so the cycling, while still humid, was really truly wonderful.

    Everyone is so friendly and the kids shouting hello and seeing traditional life as you cycle through the villages is just the best way to see it. We had planned on doing a full day trip with a driver the next day but were too tired after walking round a temple, heritage village and just meandering our way through village life.

    My kids are 8 and 10 and while some main roads are quite steep it is all downhill and we had Kadek at the front and another team member behind directing traffic so we felt really safe.

    They have their own family restaurant where you end up at the end. Best chicken nuggets in my kids opinion!! There are bigger operators in the area but supporting small family businesses is so important and clearly Kadek and his team are keen to make sure you have a great experience. Thanks guys!

    Charlotte (Melbourne, Australia)

    January 2015

    family bike trip
    rice paddies
  • “Great bike tour for the whole family”

    We were very impressed with bali hai bike tours. Great communication in the lead up to the trip, good driver, incredible guides - friendly, knowledgable and best of all, encouraging with our kids! 
    We cycled through the beautiful bamboo forest and some of the prettiest villages in bali. 
    Lunch at the end was great, too!

    Eliza (Sydney, Australia)

    January 2015

    eliza - bamboo forest bike trip
  • “Fabulous day out! ”

    An awesome tour and a wonderful way to see some amazing sites. The staff were really accommodating and helpful especially with my 7 year old son. It was a great way to see real Bali away from the hustle and bustle of the touristy area. I would recommend having breakfast first as there breakfast is more of a brunch followed by a late lunch early dinner. Would highly recommend.

    Amy W. (Melbourne, Australia)

    September 2015

    rice paddies bike track
  • “Our favourite tour.... AMAZING!”

    If you want a fantastic day tour in Bali, this is the tour for you!
    We were travelling with a group of 8 people including my mum who turned 60 while we were in Bali. We all (including 60 yr old mum) enjoyed this day immensley, first stop was the coffee plantation which was very interesting, drinking coffee made from poo! Yes...POO! Then we visited the rice fields, from there we went onto a delicious lunch overlooking the volcano (lunch was meant to be breakfast so eat before you leave your hotel) We were then taken to our bikes and off we went for a spectactular day cruising on our bikes. Through bamboo forests, stopping in a bali village, visiting a 1000 year old temple. At the end of the 21km ride we were taken to a little restaurant tucked away in the mountain side for the most delicious dinner. I was blown away by this tour and would highly reccommend it to anyone. The staff were all lovely, from the driver that picked us up from our hotel to the bike guides to the lovely people that greeted us at lunch and dinner. 10/10 Guys.....TOP TOUR!!!

    Natalie M. (Sydney, Australia)

    August 2015

    bamboo forest bike riding
  • “Amazing experience, bikes in flawless condition”

    Where do I start.. from the moment they picked us up at the hotel the service was amazing. I took my wife and 6 children 1 of them being too small to ride (8 months), but this was no issue, we were allowed to have her ride in a car following and swaping out riders to baby-seat. The tour started with a scenic stop slipped in on the way for pictures of a rice field ( they also helped take some ).

    Then a huge feast laid out for us overlooking a volcano with a perfect view. Coffee tasting and tour as well. Then off on our brand new polygon bikes. Gears worked perfect brakes were adjusted and nothing was an issue. After 3 stops, one walking through a 72 houses village where we were welcomed in to veiw there houses. We were led through a beautiful rice field to a hidden hut where our lunch was prepared. I have never been fed so well in one day.

    I highly recommend this company and tour.

    Ken Quimby (New South Wales, Australia)

    July 2015

    restaurant amid rice fields
  • “Absolutely awesome”

    Kadek, Made and Wayan absolutely made our holiday with this bike tour. From the pick up at our door, right through to the drop off later that day, our family had a brilliant day. The scenery was outstanding, meeting local people in their villages was fantastic, the meals were yummy and lots of great information from Made on the transfer and especially Kadek on the ride. Nearly 5 hours of 95% downhill riding was just awesome. Great for all ages (our girls are 11 years) The best 10 hour day we have had. Can not rate highly enough.
    Thanks Kadek and the team

    Wallace's family (Melbourne, Australia)

    June 2015

    Family bike tour go off roads
  • “What a wonderfull perfect day!”

    We booked through email, which was quick and easy and had a wonderfull day. For our two children 10 and 8 (very small girl) the right size bikes were available. Two very nice guides who spoke very good english were very helpfull and friendly to them and explained a lot while riding around.

    They were no other people so our tour for just the four of us felt very private as well! We feared it would be very touristic, it really was not at all! Saw just one other couple of foreigners (we started late at our request). Lunch at the end even made us feel we were in a private green paradise with such good food. They looked out for our safety: When traffic was a bit to busy they took the kids in the car and 10 minutes later they were riding their bikes again safely.

    I would recommend this company to all my friends!

    Renate (The Netherlands)

    May 2015

    bamboo forest with kidsvisiting temple
    off road bike tour with kidssmall back road countryside
  • “Family bike tour”

    What a fantastic tour, we took my parents and our 3 children aged 7, 6 & 3 years. 
    One of our best days out in Bali, the kids had a ball and got to experience some of the Balinese culture and see how they live. The family based business is one of the best in Bali and we will continue to recommend to family and friends to do, as we had such a great day. That the kids are still talking about it.

    Jasmine & family (Great Western, Australia)

    May 2015

    Family bike tour in the middle of rice paddies
  • “Got the best view of the countryside”

    It was an enjoyable, educational, awesome tour services of the Bali Hai Bike team! Our guide was so helpful for a first time mountain bike rider like me! It was all a good experience!

    Malou Tanaka (Odawara, Japan)

    May 2015

    In the middle of rice paddies
  • “Great experience in Bali”

    Bali is a beautiful island, and this bike trip is one of the best way to experience it. All the staffs are awesome. I'm not much of the cyclist but with their professional service taking care of the bike group, I feel safe and can easily enjoy the ride. If you love to ride don't miss this bike tour

    Ed Namchai (Bangkok, Thailand)

    February 2015

    yoga pose inside bamboo forestbike ride through rice paddies
  • “Great fun with kids”

    Really well organised day trip. 

    Many of the other reviews list the itinerary but I'd like to mention how great they were at accommodating the children.

    Our party was two families with children aged 6, 7, 8 and 9.

    They brought a range of bike sizes and bike seats. The six-yr-old opted to sit in a bike seat but the 7-yr-old cycled part of the way then swapped - they brought the van in convoy with all the bikes so he could swap whenever.

    Great, scenic, low/no traffic route for 95% of the journey but when we were on a road I felt they really prioritised our safety. We had a guide at the front and a guide at the back - he stayed very wide so passing traffic couldn't squeeze us. At 'major' junctions the van, the taxi pick up and all the staff basically held back all traffic.

    The lunch was child friendly too - chicken nuggets!!

    If you are travelling with children I would highly recommend this tour operator.

    Mark B (Liverpool, UK)

    February 2015

    bike ride through junglebike ride through back roads
    bike ride through bamboo forestbike ride through rice paddies
  • “Exceeds all expectations”

    This trip exceeds all expectations. A very friendly private driver to pick us up. A wonderful trip thru the plantations with excellent coffee and a wonderful private guide.

    We had a very friendly private guide for the bike tour, who stopped whenever we wanted to make pictures, and as it was so extremely beautiful we wanted to stop a lot. They even arranged additional staff to help us cross the few cross-overs where it was a little bit dangerous, just to be sure. We had a private photographer who provided 58 high quality amazing pictures for free after the trip.

    The trip was beautiful, you really see the real Bali, totally different then the touristic places, and the local people were extremely friendly and welcoming everywhere we came. And last but certainly not least the food at the end was extremely good. I just don't have enough words for this trip and they managed to even exceed in the category 'Excellent'.

    Jan-Daan (Amsterdam, The Netherlands)

    February 2015

    jan - bamboo forest ride
  • “One of the best days in Bali”

    These guys are great- There are a lot of bike tours offered in Bali and this is one of the most personal and private you can find.

    The staff of four were patient and attentive and appreciated that 3 of us were strong riders and 1 needed some extra time and an occasional push up hill. We traveled through shady bamboo forest, mature rice fields, a quiet village temple and rode deep into the local countryside.

    The ending at the family farm for lunch was a sweet surprise.

    I saw many bike trips passing later with large groups on congested roads and appreciated the thoughtfulness that went into planning this special route. 

    Book them now before they get discovered!

    Richard (Boston, USA)

    February 2015

    cycling through villagescycling through bamboo forest
  • “The BEST way to see Bali!”

    I had friends who highly recommended a bike tour around Ubud. After trying to contact the same business (but they didn't respond to my email while in Sanur) I booked with Kadek after reading reviews on Trip Advisor.

    From the moment the driver arrived our experience was easy, smooth and professional. We ended up being the only people on the trip and had Kadek lead us through the villages and a suprise to find that they took loads of photos which they emailed us after the trip. While the food at breakfast was pretty average to say the least (the view more than made up for it), the entire day was wonderful. Escaping the humidity of Sanur, the mountain air was a welcome relief so the cycling, while still humid, was really truly wonderful.

    Everyone is so friendly and the kids shouting hello and seeing traditional life as you cycle through the villages is just the best way to see it. We had planned on doing a full day trip with a driver the next day but were too tired after walking round a temple, heritage village and just meandering our way through village life.

    My kids are 8 and 10 and while some main roads are quite steep it is all downhill and we had Kadek at the front and another team member behind directing traffic so we felt really safe.

    They have their own family restaurant where you end up at the end. Best chicken nuggets in my kids opinion!! There are bigger operators in the area but supporting small family businesses is so important and clearly Kadek and his team are keen to make sure you have a great experience. Thanks guys!

    Charlotte (Melbourne, Australia)

    January 2015

    family bike trip
    rice paddies
  • “Great bike tour for the whole family”

    We were very impressed with bali hai bike tours. Great communication in the lead up to the trip, good driver, incredible guides - friendly, knowledgable and best of all, encouraging with our kids! 
    We cycled through the beautiful bamboo forest and some of the prettiest villages in bali. 
    Lunch at the end was great, too!

    Eliza (Sydney, Australia)

    January 2015

    eliza - bamboo forest bike trip
Back to top

Bali white water river rafting adventure tour Batur sunrise hiking tourLuwak coffee plantation tour Waterfall trekking tour

We accept payment

Bali Hai Bike Tour accept credit cards payment

Bali Hai Bike Tour also accept credit cards payment via paypal